When the Welsh came to Bedford

When the Welsh came to Bedford is a website about the Welsh troops who spent time in Bedford during the Great War, and we’ve added a link to it in other links in the right hand bar on a page.

There is a Biddenham pond connection and other Biddenham connections in that website. We may yet discover more. Look out now for:

  • Mr H Trustram Eve, in the page about a Christmas treat for the Welsh troops; later, as Sir Herbert, he was the moving spirit behind the restoration in 1932 of the dovecote that stood by the village pond until its demolition in 1966, a sad loss of a unique part of the village’s heritage;
  • the Biddenham ladies behind Jam Day in support of the VAD (Voluntary Aid Detachment) hospital in Ampthill Road; and
  • Warren Burrows, a Welsh soldier based at the Howbury Camp, who married a Biddenham girl, May Mason, in August 1916 (scroll down the alphabetical list to find him); he returned to the village after the war, raised a family and remained in the village, living variously in The Green, Day’s Lane, Main Road and latterly Church End, until his death in 1961.
Soldiers of the 1/5th Battalion, Welsh Regiment, in Bedford in June 1915

Soldiers of the 1/5th Battalion, Welsh Regiment, in Bedford in June 1915

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Dovecote, People. Bookmark the permalink.